Brokensilence Logo

Air Formation

Air Formation col. Vinyl, 180 gr.  

180g Vinyl LP, Blue w/Silver Splatters. Brighton-based shoegazers Air Formation are set to release their self-titled sixth studio album this spring via Club AC30. Inspired by bands such as Flying Saucer Attack, Spiritualized, Explosions In The Sky and The Jesus and Mary Chain, Air Formation's music incorporates heavily delayed guitar and feedback, with droning keyboards, and ethereal vocals. Forming in 2000, long before spiritual forbearers Slowdive, Ride and Loop were considered acceptable influences, the five-piece have been a mainstay of the modern shoegaze scene and have gained a devoted following, receiving critical acclaim from tastemakers including Consequence of Sound, Clash, and Louder Than War. Briefly splitting in April 2011 after the release of their fourth studio album 'Nothing to Wish For (Nothing to Lose)', they reformed in 2014 for a special one-off show to celebrate 10 years of Club AC30. In 2018, the band released the critically acclaimed album 'Near Miss'. "Time goes fast," says guitarist and vocalist Matt Bartram. "We're still figuring it all out. But most importantly, I think Air Formation still feels totally relevant. All the time we enjoy doing it we will keep at it," he adds. When it came to the writing and recording of the album, the band went back to listening to their favourite artists for influence including Bardo Pond and Mogwai to name a few, but ultimately, the album is influenced by all the Air Formation music that had come before. "How can we do something a bit different, but it still be Air Formation," says Bartram. From the blissed-out vibes of album opener 'Pressure Drop' to the anthemic guitar crescendos of 'Only So Much Light', Air Formation are masters of noise and effects, constantly exploring the outer limits of guitar texture and volume. On 'Finding Gravity', fuzzed-out guitars explode into beatific distortion, while 'I Don't Want To Talk' and 'Crashing Out' shimmer and swirl. Elsewhere, the deafening waves of noise of 'The Day After Day' and dreamy 'Sparks Dies' reveal a band who find the heart in fuzz, while album closer 'The Final Wave' is a gorgeous, heavily textured expanse. Air Formation is Matt Bartram (Guitars & Vocals), Ben Pierce (Bass), James Harrison (Drums), Ian Sheridan (Guitar) and Richard Parks (Keyboards).
Air Formation - Air Formation (col. Vinyl, 180 gr.) - LP 27482 at BrokenSilence
LP 27482

Club AC30


Independent International

File underShoegaze | Post-Rock
Disks1 LP
Order from Originalproduct
1Pressure Drop
2Only So Much Ligh
3Finding Gravity
4I Don't Want To Talk
5Crashing Out
6The Day After Day
7Sparks Die
8The Final Wave
Club AC30
Facebook TikTok Instagram
| myway-SQL |
BROKEN SILENCE Independent Distribution GmbH
Oberhafen-Kontor | Stadtdeich 27
20097 Hamburg
Contact Imprint GTC Privacy